Virginia Grains and Soybean Annual Conference A Success


Chesapeake, VA – Nearly 200 producers and agriculture industry professionals gathered at the 2011 Virginia Grains and Soybean Annual Conference on February 24th, at the Farm Bureau Center, at Meadow Event Park in Doswell, Virginia.

The day-long annual conference focused on Virginia agriculture issues such as economic production, and state and national updates on TMDL regulations and new opportunities for Virginia growers.  The Annual meetings of the Virginia Grain Producers Association and Virginia Soybean Association were also held during conference.  


Keynote speaker and RFD-TV personality, Brian Hefty, presented valuable and profitable suggestions for Virginia's producers during the morning session.


Environmental presentations followed lunch, and included guest speakers Lara Moody, director of stewardship programs at The Fertilizer Institute, Matthew Conrad, Virginia's Assistant Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry, and Anthony Moore, Virginia's Assistant Secretary of Natural Resources.


During VGPA's business meeting portion of the conference, association leadership for 2011 was voted upon and Dee Dee Darden was named as VGPA President. Awards were presented to 2010 Virginia state yield contest winners with David Hula of Renwood Farm also being recognized as the National First Place Winner in the No Till/Strip Till Irrigated Class with 368.444 bushels (Pioneer P1615HR). A special "Friend of Agriculture" award was presented to Dr. Wade Thomason for his advisement, technical expertise, and assistance with VGPA issues and projects. 


Thanks to all who attended and took time to participate in our industry and special thanks to our sponsors that made this year's event possible.


Click here to view our sponsors     |     Yield Contest Winners List