VGPA Board of Directors

Joey.jpeg Joseph (Joey) Barlow, III
Smithfield, VA
Information Coming Soon!
DSC_0825.JPG Ginny Barnes
Wicomico Church, VA
Ginny's background in agriculture and employment at DuPont Pioneer provides a strong foundation for the association. Ginny has also served on the Northern Neck Soil & Water Conservation Board and the Northern Neck Farm Museum Board. She currently serves on the VA Corn Checkoff Board.
Warring.jpeg Waring Baylor
Essex, VA
Information Coming Soon!
DSC_0401.JPG David Black
Charles City, VA
Dave's proven leadership is evidenced by his willingness to serve as Virginia's representative on the NAWG/US Wheat Joint BioTechnology Committee.  He also serves on the the VIPG LLC Board and the VA Small Grains Checkoff Board.
VGPA_LogoGrainsOnly.jpg Franklin Dowless
Courtland, VA
A graduate of NC State University, Franklin has over 20 years of experience working as a sales representative for Bayer CropScience. He has experience in all crops from grains to peanuts to tobacco to fruits and vegetables. In addition to VGPA, Franklin has had the opportunity to sit on the board of directors of: VA Crop Production Association, the Virginia Foundation for Ag in the Classroom, the Leadership Advisory Council of the Tidewater AREC, and the Southampton County Social Services Board.
DSC_0440.JPG Craig Giese 
Lancaster, VA
Giese Farm produces corn, soybeans, wheat and barley. Craig is always busy on and off the farm, finding time to be active in the Farm Bureau, Young Farmers, and the VA Soybean Checkoff Board. He is also a Certified Public Accountant


Calvin Haile 
Dunnsville, VA
Having served as VGPA President in 2008, Calvin remains active in the leadership of the association. Calvin's operation includes corn, wheat and soybeans. He also currently serves on the VA Small Grains Checkoff Board.


E. Philip Hickman, III
Horntown, VA

Phil farms grains and potatoes on his farm, Dublin Farms, on the Eastern Shore of Virginia.


Don Horsley
Virginia Beach, VA
Information Coming Soon!
DSC_0435.JPG Jay Hundley
Champlain, VA
Jay's farm, Cloverfield, is a large grain operation in Essex County, Virginia. Jay is a Virginia Delegate to the NAWG Board of Directors.
DSC_0409.JPG Wayne Kirby
Mechanicsville, VA
Wayne's professionalism and leadership are an asset to VGPA. His operation, Creamfield Farm, produces corn, wheat and soybeans. He is active in the Ruritans and serves on the Colonial Farm Credit Board of Directors.
DSC_0425.JPG Wanda Lambert
New Kent, VA
Wanda brings the grain elevator perspective to our board. She is employed by Perdue Grain & Oilseed LLC.

Jay Taliaferro
James City County, VA

Information Coming Soon!

Jim Vann
Maurertown, VA

Jim is a livestock and grain producer from the Shenandoah Valley.

Candice Wilson
West Point, VA

Information Coming Soon!
DSC_0436.JPG Ex-Officio 
Director Advisor

Tom Hardiman
Virginia Crop Improvement Association
Mechanicsville, VA
Tom represents the Virginia Crop Improvement Association and offers valuable guidance to our Board of Directors.
DSC_0397.JPG Ex-Officio 
Director Advisor
Dr. Wade Thomason
Extension Grains Specialist
Blacksburg, VA
Dr. Thomason is Associate Professor of Virginia Tech's Department of Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences. Wade manages the official Virginia corn hybrid and small grain yield testing programs.


VGPA Staff
Membership & Events Director
Conner Miller
Richmond, VA
Conner Miller works with producers and industry leaders to create economic opportunities to benefit the Virginia Grain Industry
Chris_NewWebsitePic.png VGPA Staff
Executive Director
Chris Atkins
Richmond, VA
Chris works in coordination with VGPA staff and the board of Directors to provide leadership, and communications between the VGPA, producers, legislators and our industry.
DSC_0440.JPG Craig Giese 
Lancaster, VA
If managing the funds of VGPA isn't enough work, Giese Farm produces corn, soybeans, wheat and barley. Craig is always busy on and off the farm, finding time to be active in the Farm Bureau, Young Farmers, and the VA Soybean Checkoff Board. He is also a Certified Public Accountant

VGPA Leadership Structure

VGPA officers, directors and delegates are elected each year at the VGPA Annual Business Meeting during the VGPA Annual Conference. Each VGPA Officer is elected for a one year term while each VGPA Director is elected for a three year term. The VGPA Board of Directors is comprised of both producer and industry members.

The officers, board and staff are responsible for aiding in the execution of the organization's policies, programs and strategic vision.

Are you interested in serving on the VGPA Board?

Email our Executive Director for more information.


Affiliated Leadership


 VACB-11.07-logo.png  SMALL-GRAINS-LOGO.png